Article 3. Flammable Liquids and L-P Gases.
5-301 Definitions.
The volatility of flammable liquids is increased when artificially heated to temperatures equal to or higher than their flash points. When so heated, Class II and III liquids shall be subject to the applicable requirements for Class I or II liquids. These regulations may also be applied to high flash point liquids when so heated even though these same liquids when not heated are outside of their scope.
(Code 2016)
5-302 Class I or class II; storage in buildings.
No person, firm or corporation shall keep or store in any building in the city any Class I or Class II flammable liquids in excess of five (5) gallons, except flammable liquids contained:
(Code 2016)
5-303 Class III; storage in buildings.
No person, firm or corporation shall keep or store, or cause to be kept or stored, in any building in the city any Class III flammable liquid in excess of five hundred fifty (550) gallons.
(Code 2016)
5-304 Bulk oil stations and service stations; rules and regulations.
The storage, handling and use of flammable liquids, and the design, construction and installation of containers and equipment for the storage and handling of flammable liquids at bulk oil stations and service stations within the city shall be in compliance with the Rules and Regulations of the State Fire Marshal Department, Article 7, and any amendments thereto, as filed with the Reviser of Statutes, and said Rules and Regulations are hereby incorporated by reference as provided by law and made a part of this article as if the same had been set out in full herein.
(Code 2016)
5-305 LP gases; rules and regulations.
The design, construction and installation of containers and equipment for the storage and handling of liquefied petroleum gases within the city shall be governed by and comply with the Rules and Regulations Relating to the Liquefied Petroleum Gas Industry of the State of Kansas, Article 8, and any amendments thereto, as promulgated by the State Fire Marshal Department and on file with the Reviser of Statutes of the State of Kansas, and the said rules and regulations are hereby incorporated by reference and shall be a part of this article as if the same had been set out in full herein.
(Code 2016)
5-306 Penalty.
Any person, firm or corporation violating any of the provisions of this article or the Rules and Regulations incorporated herein shall be deemed guilty of an offense and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined in any sum not less than Fifty Dollars ($50.00) nor more than One Hundred Dollars ($100.00) or be imprisoned not to exceed thirty (30) days, or be both so fined and imprisoned.
(Code 2016)